Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Inquired about a vet being able to clip my Parakeet's beak as it had become to long. They stated that they could do that. Upon bringing in my Parakeet (6 years of age) I also asked about clipping his wings. The attendant then asked if I wanted them to clip his...
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#1153671

Birds are notoriously easily stressed. Lots of Vet clinics won't even work with them because of the liability of them dying from being handled.

Even if the handler did everything perfectly the bird could still die. It's a risk you should be aware of as a bird owner.

View more comments
Review
#207078 Review #207078 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I am writing to express my strong concern and deep disappointment with your deteriorating quality of service. I have been a long time customer and have noticed progressively substandard service and turnover of incompetent doctors. My most recent experience today...
View full review
1 comment
Ferretlove98
#214912

Which Banfield was this at?

Review
#207071 Review #207071 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$100
My little yorkie pup died yesterday becasue of shock distemper shot. They performed deworming, her parvo shots, and the diphenhydramine injectable. We took her to Banfield Hazel Dell location in Vancouver, WA. When we had purchase her from a breeder in Yakima, WA....
View full review
5 comments
Banfield Pet Hospital
#226955

We did hear that a doctor was able to contact your boyfriend, who brought your puppy in, to discuss this issue and the steps that were taken. Again, we all want to send our sympathies for the loss of your Pet.

View more comments
Review
#206404 Review #206404 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Banfield Pet Hospital in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania - Banfield SUCKS

WELL, where do I start? THe location i went to had about 4 vets in one year, but only one was original....One guy was hired right after school and a woman vet lasted about 3 weeks. THe staffers and PET NURSES (LOL) are *** who arent well educated. THis place is good at cover ups, NO accountability, incompetance and outright lies..... THe wellness program I bought is bogus.....WASTE OF MONEY!! They do things that are nt necesary. I had countless mishaps and went for second opinions. Then the banfield dr. who was WRONG, said he believed in second opinions. DUH, that is because he made a misdiagnosis. Truthfully, I think they hire those who score low in their classes or vets who cant get REAL jobs......After all, who wants a corporate controlled job anyway?
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#351182

As I am reading all complaints it is giving me great satisfaction that this company has enormous amount of bad complaints. I had my own experience with this veterinary corporate business.

The responses from clients are giving everybody who is reading them the GREAT PICTURE about their management, care, business etc. My friendly advice: do your homework before you decided to take your Pet there, there are plenty of good veterinary clinics and also if you consider to work for BADFIELD explore different options FIRST!!!!!I received treatment from them beyond the comments, and hope that ONE DAY they will finish their existence?????

Anonymous
#350866

MOST of us are actually well educated. If you look at their job description, they require either training in vet assisting, an RVT license, or a bachelor's degree. I'll admit that I don't always have all the answers for when people start asking me questions. It makes me feel bad that I can't answer everything, but I didn't go to vet school. When I don't know something, I'll tell the person "I don't know the answer to that question, let's ask the doctor."

Banfield does hire a lot of new doctors. I can't argue with that. You gotta start somewhere! They also hire more senior doctors as well - our clinic has 3.

And customer service depends on the location. Hospital managers make more money the more money the hospital makes. Our hospital, for example, is a disaster. Our manager is the most greedy person you will ever meet. He will argue with people over a $10 charge. For example - here's a situation that happens ALL THE TIME! A customer will somehow misunderstand the charges and will contest them. We have everyone sign an estimate, but sometime they are just that - an estimate. So when the person goes to check out, they'll argue over $10-$20. Often this happens because they didn't understand the assistant or doctor when they were explaining procedures to them. Our manager will say, "well too bad. We explained it to you. You have to pay." WHAT?!? He should apologize and say, "I'm sorry for the misunderstanding, we'll adjust off that $10 since we didn't communicate the charges clearly to you." I'm not saying do this EVERY TIME a client disputes charges (after all, you don't want to be taken advantage of), but most of the time that this happens, it's because of a miscommunication between staff and the client. What ever happened to client service? AND JEEZ! It's $10!! It's not going to hurt your paycheck, but it may cost a customer for life. It costs less to give that person their $10 back than to lose a customer for life, and future potential customers when that client gets upset and writes a negative review.

We recently had a corporate sponsored training in client service (called EXCEED of all things). There were some REALLY GOOD points in it, but our manager chose to ignore everything and continue to treat clients like dirt. His motto, "explain our procedures, if someone doesn't it like or or doesn't understand, too bad. We've explained it once, if they don't understand it's their fault. MONEY MONEY MONEY!"

BUT! I've worked at other Banfields where this is not the case. So it just depends on the location.

Anonymous
#350756

Look at their BBB score: "F" That about sums it up.

Their "Customer Advocacy" Department kicks consumer complaints up to the management and the management usually doesn't respond and/or never admit wrongdoing.

Go somewhere else if you love your pet. If you love your pet to death, go here.

View more comments (2)
Review
#206201 Review #206201 is a subjective opinion of poster.
MY DOG had 2 tumors removed and I had paid to send the off for histopaths to reveal what kind of cancer they were. a month later, no call from the vet, so I called them. I was told by a receptionist that the tumors were accidentlally thrown away . I demanded my money...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#314517

so they are going to charge you for 2 diagnostics they admit they didn't/cant perform?

View more comments
Review
#206149 Review #206149 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$400

Banfield Pet Hospital in Katy, Texas - First Shield Trio Sold at Banfield Harmed my Dog

Back in June of 2010, I went to my local Banfield in Dallas, TX to purchase refills of Advantix for my 5-year-old Maltese. I was told my the vet assistant that Banfield was now selling FirstShield Trio. I should have questioned the switch Had I known about the horrible safety profile of this product I would NEVER have used it on my pet. My dog suffered for 4 months with various skin irritations (sores, inflammation)until I finally made the connection in September 2010 that the problem was the FirstShield Trio. This product is toxic and should be taken off the market!
View full review
Review
#206147 Review #206147 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I took my dog into Banfield off of four winds drive. They told me my dog look like she had parvo. I went on ahead and did the test it came out positive. They wanted to hospitalize her for 500 dollars a day for 2 days. I told them I could not afford it so they told me...
View full review
8 comments
Anonymous
#307321

Frist off parvo isn't hard to treat nor is it a high costing treatment I've been through it twice.. an both dog an puppy came out great..

second off the fluids could of killed the dog if they administered it in a vein because subcutaneous is where its ONLY supposed to go under the skin not injected in a vein..

third off if the puppy/dog had parvo was not throwing up yet then it was more then likely in early stages and would not have died right after treatment.... sorry u lost ur pet...

View more comments
Review
#206089 Review #206089 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$223

Banfield Pet Hospital in Newark, New Jersey - Kept the cat with bone cancer without proper examination and painkillers

I brought a stray cat at Banfield, State Route 35, NJ. Dr. Curro didn't examine her properly and she gave her a "convenia injection" for an eye infection. I was trying to find her a home, so I paid for the rabies vaccine, the feline FIV test... In the papers, other than the eye infection, she was in "an excellent condition". After 5 days in a row without at least a painkiller, the cat started to bleed through the nose so another doctor got scared and really examined her. Bone cancer! I wanted her released from the hospital and they wanted me to pay for an xray I didn't authorized! Stay away from this "hospital" cause you'll regret otherwise!
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#235045

@ha ha ha This arrogant attitude doesn't make you smarter; it's just an illusion - yours! You're not smarter just because you said so...

it takes a lot more for this!

I wish you to get through the same pain and to be treated by (someone like) dr. Curro!

Anonymous
#233161

This is amusing.

If there are no signs of a pet having an illness, how would a doctor know something was wrong? The 2nd visit, there was a reason to do a more thorough exam, the cat's nose was bleeding! Any DVM has to run the proper diagnostics in order to diagnose any sort of cancer. They can't just look at it and make a diagnosis...

It's funny you even think a Dr can do that...

Anonymous
#216414

FIRST OF ALL: How come you already know that I'm a woman? And why they only examined her properly and decided for Xray AFTER FIVE DAYS when she started to bleed???

You know what?

I don't trust ppl like you who find poor excuses for someone who should have done his/her JOB!! Don't bother to answer, I don't need your pathetic thoughts!

Anonymous
#216161

FIRST OF ALL, there is no way ANY DVM can dianose "bone cancer" from an examination. There is a good chance of doing so from an Xray but Ma'am that costs money.

View more comments (3)
Review
#205992 Review #205992 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Banfield Pet Hospital in Tampa, Florida - Banfield Scam Phony Contract

On 10/19/10 I went to my appointment at Banfield The Pet Hospital at 12836 Citrus Park Drive Tampa, Florida 33625 I wanted to give my newly adopted kitten, Simba a physical exam and I had concerns about her scratching her ear, her stool was loose, and she was coughing and sneezing when I got her but lately she sneezes only once in a while. I was interested in the Wellness Plan from the brochures it looked like a good deal. I wanted to join the wellness Plan first when I arrived but the clerk at the desk stated that I could join after the visit. I arrived at my visit at 4PM . They weighed Simba and then proceeded to take me to a room and stated that the doctor would arrive soon. The doctor took maybe 30 minutes to arrive. I stated to him that it must be busy. He did a quick full exam on Simba that lasted approximately 3 minutes. He then said he would return to take a stool sample. He returned approximately 30 minutes later and took a sample from Simba's behind. He stated he needed to examine this. So he went outside with the stool sample and returned maybe 20 minutes later telling me the stool was negative. He then took an ear swab and told me he would return after examination on his telescope. I waited another 20 minutes and thought I heard him talking to another client. He returned and told me the exam was negative and thatthe ear mites could still be there and he could flush it out himself or I could do it. I choose to do it not realizing of course there would be a fee for it. By now, I was concerned that I would be in the wellness program so I thought everything would be covered. I had a 30 coupon off a Wellness Progam from the adoption agency. He recomended antibiotics for her ear and general antibiotics for her. The fecal exam and ear swab would be covered by the wellness plan that I could join when I would leave his office. I was not too impressed with the quality of the exam. But I still figured it would be a good deal. Then the doctor proceeded to tell me how much the medications would cost. He quoted a fee in the of about $100 with discounts from the plan. My first reaction was yelling "What". I thought medicines would be covered but he stated that medicines are not covered. He told me to come back in a week. I then proceded to the front desk. When I was told that the regular fee is $280 and by purchasing the wellness Program I would pay a price of $160 which included my fee for the wellness plan and first months payment. I used my debit card to process the transaction and he stapled the receipt to about 10 pages describing Simba's illnesses. There were some loose papers on the bottom but they handed me the whole package and I made an appoinment for next week. I do not remember signing anything except for my debit card payment. About 4 days later I see Banfield Insurance on the web. I was looking for pet insurance to supplement Banfield so I would be covered fully. My god was I shocked by multiple website after website depicting fraud negligence and various horror stories. My first reaction was to bring Simba to my old vet to check her out, as after I read all the stories I did not want to stay in Banfield. My vet examined her and did a fine thorough exam with the help of and aid, he used a scope for the ears and took a stool sample with the aid. He told me all I should use was the Trasoderm Drops, not because of ear mites but because I should clean out her ear as it was dirty. He told me that I did not need the other medications. I left with Simba and payed the fee of $90 which sounded allot better than Banfields $280 or $160. Either way the exam took 10-15 minutes and it was allot more thorough. She was also checked for microchip and written down in record about the chip. Banfield totally omitted this even though a sign in the office said check each client for microchips. After I bring Simba back home I send out email to Banfield that I wish to quit the program. From Reading all those statements on the web, I figured I should change my Debit Card and get a new one so Banfield cannot take any more funds. The next day I recieved a response from Banfield that I needed to pay $120 more as it would cover the true price of the one office visit they say. I called Banfield relations and they told me I could only quit on the 4th day. My Fiance told me she would not sign a document like that. I figure that $160 more than covers the price of quick office visit and medications. Banfield seems to inflate their prices. Finally I say to myself that I am a sucker for falling for this scam. It was the coupon for thirty dollars off plus the fact that Banfields are located in PetSmart's which I thought were reputable. Well I go look at my contract and low and behold is my name printed on a piece of paper that tells about the Contract in a paragraph with a horrible contract beneath it. Nowwhere is my signature and I do not remember ever signing such a horrible agreement. I would never knowing do so. I call back Banfield which I think is probably a waste of time. I told them that I believe that I did not sign a contract. I have no papers with any signature on it. The only thing I signed was my debit card. They refer me to cancellation line, where I waited 10 minutes and then phone went dead. Alright, so now I will probably be assessed large fees and will have my credit ruined if a majority of the internet people are right. I am trying to join a class action suit as instructed on the website. I live on disability. My other cat just died I spent all my savings on her surgery and then put her to sleep at my vet place. So I do not have the funds to waste on Banfield. I cannot even afford her shots now after Banfleds prices but I would never bring my pet there money or no money due to the treatment and practices of there corporation which is all over the web. I am a sucker for falling for a coupon and what I thought would be a good deal for someone without funds. With my debit card I guess they could try to collect funds from my account and when they fail they will ruin my credit. But when Banfield falls and they will someday my credit will get cleaned up I hope. I cannot believe they have been around since the fifties with their practices. I firmly believe they will not survive.
View full review
Review
#205578 Review #205578 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Banfield Pet Hospital in Gainesville, Florida - Banfield-$ is the only thing that matters

I recently went to Banfield under a plan and got my pet neutered. when I came back in the week time period they told me to, a nurse took a quick look at my pet and said the sutures were fine. After having to take time off from work and drive the 40 mintues to get there in traffic I was asked why wasn't I able to see a doctor or go in a room. and they said they were just trying to get me seen faster. I was furious and overheard them talking to one another that if they checked me in then their APC would of gone down and would of hurt their hospital team. It was frustating to know all they care about was their money. As well as when I go there other times they recommend several shampoos and pointless things that I don't need to jack up the bill. I was so fruststed I cancelled my wellness plan but get calls all the time saying I missed an appt even though I never made one. LAst the employees are rude and dont care about your pet at all as I continuuouslly had to wait over 2 housr every visit just for shots!
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#225953

The last two times I had sutures removed (at the dentist and at my GP), I never saw my doctor. I didn't get my vitals taken. Didn't ask to speak with the doctor/dentist either.

Did you?

The point is, removing sutures doesn't require a vet's attention. A nurse can do that, a vet can take a peek and be done. If you specifically need to speak with the doctor then tell the front desk that. Also... most Banfield's are open 7 days a week to 7pm. You probably didn't have to *** work for a suture recheck.

Ferretlove98
#214914

Which Banfield was this at?

Anonymous
#205852

unfortunately, you are 100% correct. The comment about the APC is very true, and the staff and DVM's are all too concerned about this number.

If they "checked u in" that would be a zero (no charge for a suture removal). A zero destroys an average, its basic math...

View more comments (2)
Review
#205009 Review #205009 is a subjective opinion of poster.