Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show
Banfield PetsMart Pet Veterinarian Hospital Review Complaint. I want to pay Banfield Petsmart Pet Hospital with my CARE Veterinarian Pet Health Care credit card and said you have to spend $250+ to use the Care Credit Card. With the economy I cannot afford to pay for...
View full review
6 comments
Anonymous
#951103

$250 is the minimum charge for Care Credit to not charge you interest. If it's under that amount, they will charge you 27%apr so really - Banfield is trying to help you out.

View more comments
Review
#349977 Review #349977 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$250
I have Banfield insurance and get a "free" dental cleaning once a year. It is not free, never has been free. Every cleaning the vet said more teeth needed to be pulled. This time is is $440 for three teeth. I don't have it but felt too guilty to say no. So I said yes...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#554857

LOL! The corporate shill posting for this company is a perfect representation of their customer service.

Aside from the first 2 sentences, it's the same pasted response everyone else gets. And believe me, calling them isn't going to change anything. They just want to post to make people think they care. All this company cares about is money.

Think about it. What other vet pressures you into signing up for a plan that you have to make monthly payments on, even if your pet dies?

View more comments
Review
#349791 Review #349791 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$440

Banfield Pet Hospital in Miami, Florida - Banfield Animal Hosp, dirty and extremely poor service

Betty Rodriguez Ref Banfield Pet Hosp IVE HAD THE WORST EXPERIENCE TODAY...at the KENDALL AND 137 LOCATION....PLEASE...PLEASE..DO NOT TAKE UR PETS THERE!..IT IS DIRTY...UNFRIENDLY STAFF....THE WAIT FOR A ROUTINE CHECK UP WAS TWO HOURS....NO APOLOGIES...NOT ONE PERSON OFFERED WATER TO MINE OR OTHER PETS....THEY HAVE THE HEALTHY ANIMALS WAITING WITH THE SICK ANIMALS....MY DOG WAITED FOR TWO HOURS WITH APPOINTMENT...FOR A FIVE MINUtE CHECK UP....I HAVE BEEN W BANEFIELD FOR NINE YEARS....I CALLED TO CANCEL TODAY.......THERE R BETTER ANIMAL CLINICS....PLEASE DONT TAKE UR PETS TO THIS PLACE....THEY WILL COME OUT SICK...IF THEY R NOT.......RUDE FRONT DESK "LADIES"...THE VET...CARED ZERO FOR MY COMPLAINTS ......HOW SAD HOW THEY TREATED MY PET....NO WATER IN TWO HOURS....NOT ONLY MY PET BUT THE OTHERS AS WELL...THE PLACE IS VERY UNSANITARY.....PLEASE DONT TAKE UR BELOVED PETS TO THIS INHUMANE PLACE.....and after I left....THEY CALLED TO TELL ME THAT I LEFT WITHOUT PAYING TEN DOLLARD FOR THE NAIL CLIPPINGS..AND IF I DIDNT PAY BEFORE 7 PM COLLECTION AGENCY
View full review
Review
#349629 Review #349629 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I took my extreemly ill kitten to the Bandfield hosp in West Des Moines, IA in May of 2011. At the time they told me about the kitten plan they had, I signed up for it due to the health of my kitten and was informed that even if my kitten died I would still have to...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#555045

Well... I'm not thrilled that every time I go to Banfield they have a DIFFERENT Vet.

Also, very overpriced on meds. I paid $18 for ONE CAPSTAR pill. PetSmart sells them for less than $40 for SIX of them.

At the time of checkout, I was handed a bag with his meds and reviewed everything when I got home. Of course: ALL SALES ON MEDICATIONS are FINAL!!!

View more comments
Review
#349434 Review #349434 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Update by user Feb 18, 2013

Thank you jstcurious. I thought it was unprofessional and inappropriate to bring into question my not having "grown up" ; ) really. I don't have a lot of disposable income, but as a pet owner and lover, I would find a way to pay for something catastrophic, should it...

View full review
10 comments
Anonymous
#611263

I don't understand why you think you are entitled to a free exam simply because your pet had a rare and unexpected reaction to this medication. I have applied it thousands of times to thousands of different animals, and our hospital has only seen one adverse reaction (which was an allergic reaction).

Often, allergic reactions don't happen on the first exposure because the body has to build up antibodies against the substance it recognizes as foreign. Why should they have to pay for your visit because your pet had a rare reaction? That's like saying I'm going to make the candy industry pay for my medical bills after I eat a snicker's bar if I'm allergic to peanuts. Adverse reactions can't be predicted, and they aren't necessarily the medication's fault.

Often it's a pet's own idiosynchratic physiology that triggers adverse reactions. Yes, Cindy said "come check it out" because how can she evaluate an animal over the phone? A neuro exam involves seeing the animal in person, looking at its reflexes, and performing certain physical manipulations to assess for neural abnormalities.

I don't understand why you claim you were "checked into an appointment you did not ask for." You wanted your dog to be examined...thus you must pay for it.

That's the way it works. Doctors spent years and hundreds of thousands of dollars financing their education, why should they not be reimbursed for their time and expertise? I understand if they did something negligent, but they didn't. Your pet had a rare side effect to the medication - no one's fault.

You also claim in your update that you have money for daily care and regular costs. This is obviously not the case as you said yourself that you skipped a month of flea prevention because you did not have the finances. To have to "scrape together" $15 means you are in no business owning an animal. Owners should be financially responsible for their pets, and that includes monthly flee treatments AS WELL AS unexpected medical expenses.

You really have no one to be mad at except yourself. It shouldn't be the vet's responsibility to pay for your animal if you cannot.

View more comments
Review
#348333 Review #348333 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$15

Banfield Pet Hospital in Olive Branch, Mississippi - WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! RUDE!!!

Does not know how to politely direct people to their department; quick to talk and hangup on people no customer service whatsoever extremely rude!!!! In louisiana on south clearview parkway. Simply wanted to speak to the manager, quick to cut off and insult people. You have it hard so does everyone else! If you tried to have a better attitude you would have s better day be grateful you have a job period! Once I was on the phone with a manager I was quickly spoken to and hung up on I couldn't even finish saying thank you & bye in spite of not being helped and disrespected!
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#550805

Contacting the support team is a moot point. This too occurred with me.

The individual hospitals are lent to their own customer service policies. Unfortunately the policies are either not followed or non existent.

I was not permitted to cancel my contract after inappropriate treatment. I am now forced to either finish out agreement with my dog or pay in full to get out of it.

Banfield Pet Hospital
#549871

Hi Anonymous - Thank you for taking the time to let us know, and I'm sorry that you were upset by our staff. I understand that you were not satisfied with your experience, particularly the customer service you received over the phone.

Could you please call our Client Advocate Team, toll-free, at 877-500-2288 or email cat(at)banfield(dot)com to help us better understand what happened? We look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Most sincerely,Lisa Banfield Online Community Manager

View more comments (1)
Review
#347371 Review #347371 is a subjective opinion of poster.
What has happened to the world? On Sunday 9/23 I took my 17 year old Lab Meg to be put down due to her system shutting down over 48 hours begining late on Friday and Saturday. Banfield was the only Vet open in town open on Sunday. I used Banfield the year prior to put...
View full review
6 comments
Anonymous
#567356

Although it may not have been handled in the most sensitive of ways there could be a very sensible reason behind this.

If a Vet has never seen a pet before & unless there is an obviously terminal condition they CANNOT CANNOT 'just give a shot' to euthanize - that leaves them open for lawsuits of medical malpractice. Because of all the legal ramifications from people being sue-happy even Vets have to be super cautious & go through the medical history/do full physical exams on all new pets, which does take a significant amount of time.

Given that by your own admission this is the only hospital open in the area on a Sunday they are very likely to have also had a lot of other people who's regular vets are shut calling in for appointments, meaning that they would be very busy & may genuinely not have had the time to give you & your pet the time needed for such a serious decision/exam. I do think however that if they were busy that they should have referred you to an Emergency clinic so she didn't have to wait (there are normally lots of these in most built-up areas where Banfield hospitals tend to be)

View more comments
Review
#347369 Review #347369 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Banfield Pet Hospital in Alexandria, Virginia - Follow-up with Customers

Update by user Oct 25, 2012

Guess What? I learned via voice messaging that Archie\'s expensive non-local urine test turned out to be no bacteria growth found in his urine.

It took 5 weeks for the results to be RELAYED to me. I learned Benfield has the results at week 2. Let me explain. At week one -- labs found not bacteria growth; at week two -- no bacteria growth; finally week three no growth.

So what does this all mean? He has no Urinary Tract Infection? It just disappeared like magic.

The stress and worry a first time person with no experience living with a dog had to go through was seriously devastating. I am too old and too tired to put up with such incompetents.

Original review posted by user Sep 24, 2012

Archie. of the canine race, has been suffering from a Urinary Track Infection. Timeline is....Day 1 -- diagnosed with UTI; treatment: Shot with follow-up in 2 weeks. Day 14 -- Follow-up appointment, he still has UTI with crystals & white blood cells in urine ; treatment: antibiotics given orally daily for 2 weeks. Day 32 -- Follow-up appointment, he still has UTI but with crystals in urine; treatment: two weeks rest. Day 47 -- Follow-up appointment, got urine and sent to lab and will provide results once know but should not take more than 14 days. Day 62 -- no word from Banfeld so I called. Primary Vet not in and will get a call from another vet about results of test. Day 64, today -- call again, Primary vet not in until tomorrow; message taken for her to give me a call. I asked if any of the other vets can read the results.....they will try. Waiting for a call; however, will not renew insurance with them once tern is over in April 2013.
View full review
1 comment
Banfield Pet Hospital
#546380

Hi PowersD3 - Thank you for taking the time to give us honest feedback, it helps us to improve when our valued customers take the time to let us know how we can do better. I know that you didn't have a positive experience with us, but I am hoping that you see fit to reach out to our Client Advocate Team at 877-500-2288 cat(at)banfield(dot)com so we can talk this through in more detail.

Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you at your convenience. Most sincerely, Lisa Banfield Online Community Manager

Review
#347363 Review #347363 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I have had experiences with Banfield on both the client level and the employee level. And while everyone is entitled to their opinion I think it is absolutely wrong that because someone either did not listen, did not educate themselves, or did not read their contract...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#546572

"Banfield has an exceptional support system for our hospital associates" - No, Lisa. They don't. I was taken advantage of for a year by a greedy and unethical hospital manager.

View more comments
Review
#347081 Review #347081 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Banfield Pet Hospital- very slow and inefficient service. Cuyahoga Falls,Ohio

First Time goin there I had an appointment and ended up waiting forever as receptionists let others go before me just because they walked in with a cute dog. Then she completely ignored me and started taking telephone calls. I had to hold my temper and let it go. Their waiting area is complete chaos and their staff isnt very efficient at all in helping customers waiting in line. They put a collar on my cat and the collar was off before i got home and i have no idea how to put it back on. Other precautions for my cat were explained last minute and i had no time to prepare.
View full review
1 comment
Banfield Pet Hospital
#546241

Hi Mringler - Thank you for taking the time to give us honest feedback, it helps us to improve when our valued customers take the time to let us know how we can do better. I know that you didn't have a positive experience with us, but I am hoping that you see fit to reach out to our Client Advocate Team at 877-500-2288 cat(at)banfield(dot)com so we can help improve overall service.

Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you at your convenience. Most sincerely, Lisa Banfield Online Community Manager

Review
#347031 Review #347031 is a subjective opinion of poster.