Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

Update by user Jul 25, 2012

My local Banfield called and told me they are willing to work out some resolution with me, I will know Monday. I have / will try to remove the complaint but this site doesn\'t afford me that option.

I re red my review, there is nothing said that wasn\'t factual. The...

View full review
6 comments
Anonymous
#543293

I totally agree it's a ripoff they gave my dog 4 different antibiotics because they didn't know what was wrong with him so when I took him in for a followup after it was a different vet that said "why did she give you all that? he didn't need that only needed 1, well she may have not known." Really?!

But I thought maybe it was just that one time but Nope next time vet said under her breath "well not really sure what that medicine does but we can give it to him." I thought whoa wait I can say I'm not sure but you can't you're supposed to know. then wanted to do an x-ray on my dog which would cost me $216 and that's with the monthly ($38) insurance I'm paying... I said no let's wait.. I took him home with antibiotic called a reputable vet x-ray costs $90 regular exam is $27.50.

You can bet I'm not going to Banfield anymore, cancelling my insurance... I can put the $38.50 in a separate account and go to a real vet and use the money as needed.

I'm glad I learned my lesson before it's too late. DON'T go to Banfield you're pet will thank you and live longer.

View more comments
Review
#334333 Review #334333 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Medical Service
I fax them a nice settlement letter an no work so I guess I am just going to file court action I gave them a chance see at first I was going to supplt them with documents but attorney says to supply nothing he suggested we try to settle the matter without out court...
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#520519

to Mister941..it is obvious that you had a problem at banfield and do not need to tell us what it is..best of luck to you in getting the justice you deserve and hope your animal is ok and if not my condolences.

View more comments
Review
#334270 Review #334270 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Medical Service

Banfield Pet Hospital in Athens, Georgia - Treating pets like family?

I walked into an OPEN pet smart in Huntsville Alabama, it was exactly 602 pm on Saturday July 21, 2012. I walked to the desk of the banifield pet hospital inside the OPEN store. I asked to get a flea pill for my pet the girl sitting on her duff doing nothing just smiled and said they were closed. This obviously is a matter of VERY poor customer service. I said I had traveled a long way to get there, but she said she was sorry. Well so am I, because I am MOVING on to someone who has the "3 minutes " in an open store to help , where "Pets are treated like family"
View full review
7 comments
Anonymous
#1188716

Wow that's awful!!! It seems this location has improved a lot over the last few years though.

I started going here back in 2014.

I have only had a small issue once and I spoke to Bradley who I believe is their manager and he fixed the issue. He even gave me his email address.

Anonymous
#526539

Was the doctor there? A hospital can not sell a proscription drug without a doctor being there.

It might have "only" been 6:02 but if the doctor is suppose to get off at 6 they could have been gone by the time you got there. Next time maybe you should call ahead and not complain about something that is your fault.

Banfield Pet Hospital
#519130

Hi, Mikeebay – Thank you for taking the time to let us know, and I am so sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience at our Huntsville location.

We strive to provide exceptional customer service to our customers. When we don't hit the mark, we truly appreciate your honest opinion about your experience with us. Could you please call our Client Advocate Team, toll-free, at 877-500-2288 or email cat(at)banfield(dot)com to help us better understand how we can improve overall service? We look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Most sincerely,

Lisa

Banfield Online Community Manager

Anonymous
#518444

What vet office isn't open when are suppose to be.I called to make an appt.and found out the office is closed because they had no vet available to work that day!!!!!!!I find this irresponsible and inconsiderate of banfield!!!!!!!!

Anonymous
#517486

Banfield is separate from Petsmart and usually have different,shorter hours. If the computer program used to process your payment was shut down then there was nothing else to do.

Closing times are there for a reason. You are just there for one thing but then while she's helping you, someone else pops up then someone else and it keeps going. Anyone in customer setvice can tell you how much it sucks to be stuck at work after hours because of situations like these.

Just go when they are open, it's pretty easy. Technology is even available to help you call or look online for their hours :)

Anonymous
#517092

I agree with you. Lily after today's incident I will bring my business elsewhere. I guess I was shocked because they had been providing good service ..just they need to remind their employees who provides their pay...the customer!

Anonymous
#517070

An angel has intervened on your behalf. Never do business with Banfield.

These people are the worse of the worst when it comes to treating pets. I'm only surprised she didn't insist you make an appointment for x-rays and blood work to get a flea pill. I'm being sarcastic, but trust me, you do not want to do business with them on any level. Run Away!

Heaven knows what kind of "flea pill" you'd have ended up with to require their further treatment. I'm serious, they are that bad.

View more comments (6)
Review
#333714 Review #333714 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Banfield Pet Hospital

We took my daughter's dog to Banfield hospital today for treatment of a severe skin allergy. Both the Vet and vet tech were rude and unprofessional. The vet was dismissive and not only ignored our questions when we pressed for answers to our questions she was rude and angry. The vet tech spoke down to us like we were beneath her. We left with a bag full of medication which they forced upon us, didn't explain to us still not really having any idea what was wrong with the dog since they refused to answer our questions. When we got home the ointment that the vet had put on my daughter's dog's sore caused an allergic reaction...we called to report the reaction and when we asked to speak with the vet the girl who answered the phone refused and replied just giver her a bath....all they cared about when we were there was pushing the wellness plan....they cared nothing for our dog or what was really wrong with her...so $300 later we still don't know what the issue is or how to help her....
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#531027

@Sad,

We did find her a better vet and she is well on her way to recovery... :grin - Thank you so much for your concern and comment! :zzz

Anonymous
#531026

I have heard nothing from Banfield other than this response to my original post - and noone at this phone number answers the phone....

Anonymous
#516560

Dear MaggieMay. You've already hit on what the problem is with your daughter's sweet dog.

"they cared nothing for our dog." Clearly the way to help her dog is to take her to a competent veterinarian with an efficient staff truly involved with pet and animal care. It's highly unlikely you will find satisfaction from Banfield, they've already gotten your money. I only pray you didn't fall victim to the wellness plan scheme.

Make as much noise as you can against these horrible people, and locate a good doctor. Best Wishes.

Banfield Pet Hospital
#516504

Hi MaggieMay - I hope your daughter’s dog is feeling much better after the allergic reaction! I'm sorry about your experience at our Dallas location. I understand your frustration and am sorry you and your daughter’s dog went through such a stressful situation.

After reading your feedback, we would like to speak with you directly to gather more information. We strive to provide exceptional customer service to our customers. We truly appreciate your honest opinion about your experience with us. Could you please call our Client Advocate Team, toll-free, at 877-500-2288 or email cat(at)banfield(dot)com so we can help improve your experience?

Your satisfaction and the health of your daughter’s dog are of the utmost importance to us. Thank you again for letting us know, we look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Most sincerely,

Lisa

Banfield Online Community Manager

View more comments (3)
Review
#333327 Review #333327 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Banfield Pet Hospital Wellness Plan
Customer for 43 months with "Drew Poynot" (black lab) and 43 months of wellness plan payments, dog food, toy, treat, medecine, etc... Adopted a 6-month-old lab 7/3/12. This lab is "Boca Poynot" Boca was immediately signed up for the Puppy Wellness plan at ~$25/mo. On...
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#518213

Hey Jeremy......

We also have had our own Banfield problems. We also had the wellness plan for our beloved cat. We took him to one of his annual check-up vists. We came back to pick him up several hours later to find the look for terror in the eyes of the receptionist.

Long story short....our cats chart had been mixed up with another one who was there to have a tooth pulled and to have his 'undescended *** removed'. Our kitty was CUT OPEN and HAD A TOOTH PULLED for no reason!!!

So much for a check-up! Needless to say we no longer use Banfield but thought I should also post this about our experience.

Of course I paid nothing for the surgery, canceled my wellness plan immediately, and let friends know to avoid Banfield.

But (working in healthcare myself) I also understand that accidents happen. They were quite apologetic and embarrassed about the event, which I did appreciate. I'm just thankful my kitty is alive and they weren't putting the other kitty to sleep that day.

--Davenport

View more comments
Review
#333180 Review #333180 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Medical Service
My girlfriend recently had our dog examined at one of Banfield's offices in Oregon. She was charged over $320 for blood tests that I could have had performed at my vet for about $90!! The total bill, including the office visit was close to $400. A good example...
View full review
4 comments
Anonymous
#538671

VG - I work as a vet tech as well, the boxes of the 30 heartworm tests run about 150$ each (148.60 to be exact) and that comes to less than 5$ each. Also, 278$ is actually very reasonable for what they paid to have a dental w/ mass removals. Dentals at my hospital cost 150$ and that includes BW, all of the proper monitoring, dental xrays (which are not even capable at Banfields, yet they promote they do a full dental prophy), AND nail trims & anal glands.

Having a mass removal can be done while the technician is hand-scaling/probing the teeth (Wait, that's right, Banfield doctors don't care about doing the full-mouth exam. They just want to get them under, scale, polish and expect their technicians to do all of this in less that 30 minutes). Oh, and we have to be licensed through our state board to perform a dental, which, Banfield hires a lot of 'kids' that have absolutely NO veterinary experience and put a clip board in their hands and are told to monitor anesthesia. I worked for Banfield for 2 years before I was licensed. I had NO veterinary experience myself when I first started, but I had to monitor surgery and perform dentals....

Great care huh?

View more comments
Review
#333034 Review #333034 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Banfield Pet Hospital Wellness Plan
Malti Po his name was pepper my best friend, I am disabled and on a fixed income so I joined this Banfield plan for 34.95 a month before bringing my dog to them he was fine not a thing wrong playful and his usual self the day after he started acting sluggish and he had...
View full review
17 comments
Anonymous
#669599

To the person grieving the loss of their Chihuahua.

If a pet has heart failure (which it sounds like this one did from the brief Hx of pulmonary edema, murmur etc)them the treatments they gave sound medically appropriate. Any treatment, especially in advance heart disease carries some risk, but the certainty of death from doing nothing makes it a justified risk in many cases. Again, just like in people no pet reacts exactly the same to each medication so you pet may have had an unexpected poor reaction to the drugs they gave. Again though, both of these drugs are commonly used in pets with heart disease. It sounds like the vets were trying to start with basic stabilization but that it was not sufficient/your pet reacted unusually & required further, more advance care was needed but that this was beyond what you could afford. Unfortunatly just like in people heart disease requires extensive & expensive work-up so if you could not even afford stabilization of your pet how on earth do you think you would have been able to afford proper long-term care and monitoring (echocardiograms, consultations with cardiologists, expensive daily medications etc etc). The sad readily is most likely you would not be able to do any of this.

In cases where an owner cannot afford appropriate care or even to initially stabilize the pet the euthanizing it to prevent the pet suffering further is very very common.

I understand you are probably in shock at the sudden loss of your pet but it is pathetic to try & blame the people who were trying to help within the parameters of what your finances would allow them to do. If you had no/poor credit then you couldn't expect any vet to treat her for free. Vets are a business just like any other & almost no vets take 'payment plans' anymore because too many people lie & say they will pay them back then can't/won't so the Vets end up loosing money/not being able to pay employees/for medications & equipment/rent etc. In the end it was a combination of your pets underlying medical condition & your financial situation that determined the sad outcome. Come to terms with this & you will be a less bitter person.

View more comments
Review
#332195 Review #332195 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Vaccination

Update by user Aug 18, 2012

received refund so did not need to pursue litigation. The refund was for the services I had done at other vet hospital which banfield reimbursed me for. Happy to report my cat has made a full recovery and his third eyelid did finally go away and has little to no...

View full review
9 comments
catlover981
#581127

Tiffany, I hope you read this! what worked for my cat was anitibotic shots...totaling 2 shots one every two weeks. My cat made a full recovery and so you may want to check with your doctor on this...sometimes the eardrum is punctured so you want to be careful with putting anything in ears...my vet told me not to get anything in the ears ever again as there may always be *** in his ear...I did the same thing as you and thought that he might need ear cleaning due to him scratching ears and I know how horrible it is to see your beloved pet have vertigo...best of luck with a full recovery...I don't know if the antibotics healed my cat or not for sure but I do know that in about 1 1/2 weeks he had lost the vertigo which is the dangerous part because they don't eat...give your one everything that he likes to eat..shrimp or turkey livers...his favorite food and this may have also saved his life as it took something he loved to get him to eat

View more comments
Review
#331861 Review #331861 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Medical Service

Banfield Pet Hospital in Long Island City, New York - First Shield

Apparently was supposed to be better than K9 Advantix, We set ourselves up for auto mailings of them once a monht to keep my dog protected, last week I noticed she was having irritations, I couldnt find any fleas but there was a lot of red and she was losing hair in the spots she was biting at. I thought it was sensitive skin, Send her to the vet, not only do I now have to pay banfield for the visit, but its a visit about a flea med not working that they said was proven more effective than the previous stuff I used, Now they want me to switch back to K9 Advantix but may not refund me for the 2 extra doses of First Shield I have. This is ridiculous. SHes never had fleas before now....
View full review
3 comments
Anonymous
#517864

:(

We took our 8 week puppy to Banfield on Sunday July 15, 2012 for help on finding a flea medication. The over the counter shampoos or applications were for puppies 12 weeks and older.

We were advised to buy First Shield for our puppy. Our first reaction was that it was a lot of medicine for a 3.6 pound puppy. We waited a day and went to our Vet for further advice. So glad we did.

Our vet never heard of it and had NOTHING good to say about Banfield. She gave us K9 Advantix II and the fleas were gone in matter of 12 hours. We tried to return the UNOPEN/UNUSED flea medicine to Banfield and WOULD NOT give us a refund. They claim it could have been tampered with.

Either way, we are sorry that Petsmart chose to include Banfield in their store. Please do not waste your time.

Anonymous
#515499

When something works, don't fix it. You went to Banfield, mistake #1.

Banfield vet (*cough*) insists you use something other than what you pet is accustomed to, there's a clue. You took your cat back to "them" for further treatment of an adverse reaction rather than to a competent doctor, mistake #2. Dear heavens I pray you didn't get suckered into that joke of a wellness plan. I've never let a doctor yet sway me into something other than what I've been using that works to take care of my dogs and cats, from lipiderm to flea meds.

If it works, it works, and I am in charge of my pets care, bottom line. Goes the same for my own physician. Take charge of your medical care whether it's you or your pets. Something smells rotten, get out of there fast.

I don't know where Banfield gets their staff, but ask around and find someone with a good reputation. Get out of there, show your cat your love.

Banfield Pet Hospital
#514999

Hi, Anonymous –

Thanks for letting us know about your recent experience with our facility.

If you are willing, would you please consider calling our Customer Advocate Team, toll-free, at 877-500-2288 or emailing them at internet.inquiries(at)Banfield(dot)net? Your satisfaction and your cat’s health are of the utmost importance to us. We look forward to hearing from you at your convenience.

Most sincerely,

Lisa

Banfield Online Community Manager

View more comments (2)
Review
#331604 Review #331604 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$80
How dare you people treat pet owners the way you do...You know there is charitable organizations out there that will assist your customers financially if they cannot afford the services you overcharge for, yet you force a single mother and her daughter to sigh over...
View full review
10 comments
Anonymous
#725859

I want to share an experience I had with a low cost spay and neuter clinic. I was at a clinic waiting to be seen in Pico Rivera, CA for a black male kitten we had been given.

A elderly lady and her roommate were also sitting close to me and we started talking. The calico cat was a rescue from a neighbor, who was moving, and was going to take to the nearest animal shelter, which was a high kill one. The cat had recently had kittens and developed infection in her uterus and she was on antibiotics, from another vet, but the kitty needed to be fixed soon. This clinic was not equipped to handle complicated cases like this.

The lady was besides herself and only had the money for the low cost spay. The staff were wonderful and comforted her, and took her distraught into a private room, to calm her. I listened as the already busy staff found an organization that would cover her spay for twenty dollars more than she was paying currently in LA. She and her roommate left relieved and happy.

I asked how the cat was doing when I picked my cat up, and the vet tech said all had gone well. The women was able to keep her cat, which she rescued from being euthanized. This is an ethical and wonderful animal organization that helps low income families get needed vaccinations, spay, and other procedures. While, vet techs that work for corporations, lack sympathy or compassion for those that cannot afford your over inflated prices.

How sickening that your corporation refuse to even refer low income to organizations such as these. Many low income families have more compassion and empathy for homeless animals because they know how it feels. The comments made by some of the Banfield vet techs says how cold and cruel they are. If you have not gone to school to become a vet tech, then you are not truly one, just a glorified vet assistant.

It is scary that this corporations are allowed to hire untrained personal to save money. By the way, if you are working at Banfield, as a vet nurse, guess what you are also low income. If you lost your job would you be able to afford their outrageous prices? What comes around goes around.

One day it will be you with a sob story loosing your beloved animal. I really do not see how most of you defending this horrid place should be working with animals anyway.

View more comments
Review
#330800 Review #330800 is a subjective opinion of poster.