Featured
Tania f Chn

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

BEWARE OF ANY BANFIELD HOSPITAL- A NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Banfield Pet Hospital - BEWARE OF ANY BANFIELD HOSPITAL- A NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE!
Explore video interviews
Advertisements

BEWARE OF BANFIELD PET HOSPITALS NATIONWIDE IN THE USA!!! TRULY A NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE!

I feel compelled to share my harrowing experience with Banfield Pet Hospital int eh hopes of preventing other pet owners from going through the same TRAUMATIC ordeal.

My beloved super healthy 4 year old dog suffered immensely due to their negligence and protocols or should i say lack of, including lack of proper care.

My nightmare began when i took my pet to Banfield for a routine dental cleaning, his first one and most likely last one. No dental issues, just a routine cleaning. Little did i know that this seemingly simple procedure would turn into a life threatening situation. My dog was overdosed, with excessive anesthesia as "prescribed by their protocols" which lead to complications after and a prolonged recovery process of 3 + days.

He almost didn't make it. What shocked me even more was the hospital and corporate blatant disregard for my pet's well being. It became so evident that their protocols were driven by FINANCIAL GAIN rather than the health and safety of the animals in their care. It is DISHEARTENING to witness a facility like this prioritize PROFIT over the LIVES OF INNOCENT PETS.

Despite my attempts to seek resolution and accountability from Banfield CORPORATE team and office, i have been met with silence and indifference for days.

The lack of communication and empathy from their end only ads insult to injury and it is clear that they DO NOT VALUE THEIR CUSTOMERS or the WELL BEING of THE ANIMALS entrusted to their care.

Yesterday i finally got a call from chief vet for Banfield stating "they have made a mistake and are aware of bad reputation , bad reviews, issues with customer service and are working on it and will try to resolve this situation".

Furthermore, my experience is not an isolated incident. COUNTLESS NEGATIVE reviews form MANY other pet owners echo my sentiments, highlighting a pattern of subpar practices and service that are questionable at Banfield NATIONWIDE. IT IS ALARMING TO SEE SO MANY PET OWNERS SHARE SIMILAR STORIES OF MISTREATMENT, NEGLIGENCE AND UNETHICAL AND UNPROFESSIONAL SERVICE ONLY CONCERNED FOR THEIR OWN PROFITS AND MORE $$$$$!

I implore ALL PET OWNERS to THINK TWICE before entrusting their furry companions to ANY BANFIELD PET HOSPITAL. The risks and potential hard OUTWEIGH ANY CONVENIENCE or COST SAVINGS they may offer with their insurance plans.

OUR PET'S SAFETY AND WELL BEING SHOULD ALWAYS BE THE TOP PRIORITY AND IT IS CRUCIAL TO CHOOSE A FACILITY THAT UPHOLDS THOSE VALUES WHICH BANFIELD PET HOSPITALS DO NOT.

In conclusion, my experience has been nothing short of a NIGHTMARE.

I urge you to consider alternative options and do your research on any of their facilities before making a decision. Your pet's health and happiness are to precious to be compromised by a HOSPITAL THAT PRIORITIZES PROFIT OVER THE PET'S WELL BEING.

View full review
Loss:
$30000
Cons:
  • Unethical
  • So many
  • Misleading

Preferred solution: Response from Corporate office/upper management taking FULL accountability about negligence protocols that endangered my PET! Change of protocols .Monetary compensation for the overall horrible experience over the years, and last horrific incident.

User's recommendation: BEWARE IF YOU WANT A HEALTHY AND WELL TAKEN CARE OF PET! OR ALIVE PET!

Rita C Qpe

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Beaverton, Oregon

No one Answers their phone!

I am so sick and tired of the Beaverton Oregon Banfield Hospital on Cedar Falls Drive. No one answers their phone at all. What is wrong with this place?
View full review
Janes G Ngg

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Little Rock, Arkansas

Banfield’s Negligence Resulted in my Pet’s Death

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I signed up for the Banfield Plan and took my beautiful 8 year old Rottweiler for a wellness checkup on 2/17//24.

After he saw the veterinarian , Dr. Weiss, she took me into a side room to diss his results. She stated his blood work was normal, he was about 40lbs overweight and that she had discovered a mas on his left hind leg to which she stuck a needle into and it bleed for awhile and then subsided. Her diagnosis was that it was a non cancerous tumor she recommended be scheduled for surgery and removed. He also received a bordella and lime disease vaccination and was scheduled for the boosters.

Upon exiting, she stated she forgot to mention he did test positive for ehrlichilosis, which is the result of a tic bite and was very common in Arkansas, it he did not exhibit any symptoms.

Upon bringing him home, his demeanor immediately changed. He was urinating and defaulting in the house, began having tremors, and things drastically got worse as the day went on. He was drenched in saliva, dehydrated. breathing rapidly and then began whaling in excruciating pain. It was an experience I prey no one ever has to witness.

I called the vet and explained his symptoms and asked if he could be having side effects from the vaccines or by the needle *** from the doctor. The assured me thii out Dr symptoms were unrelated to his treatment.

I asked, then why would he be perfectly fine when he arrived and then rapidly deteriorate after his visit. The asked if he could have gotten into any househol products or poison, and I said not a chance and would not rather gave shown up in his blood work.

They had. I recommendations. The following day I took him to a local vet and explained his symptoms. The retrieved his records from Banfield and the vet said he had a couple of blood results that were a little high but he saw no obvious problem. He said he was going to prescribe meds for echricilosus and if hie was not improving in a day or two to take him to the Emergency. Clinic.

I brought him home and his symptoms remained critical. He was in horrible pain, so at 3A.M I festively calked what was advertised as 24 hour emergency care( what a line of crap).called six different clinics and got a voice message they were terribly sorry but the clinic would be open at 8:AM Really?

I then called Banfield and told them I was being Deogie in and they needed to do x-rays or whatever the grill was needed to determine the cause of his suffering.

It is a 40 minute drive to the clinic, so I immediately had my neighbor drive me to Banfield. Upon arriving, I announced I need a stretcher immediately and they need to come out and get him. I waited at least 15 minutes and was intermittently informed they were working on it. At 20 minutes my friend came through the do it r and said, Janes, I think he stopped breathing. I ran out to the car and my precious vs g was deceased.

Anazingly, the situation suddenly became important and several techs came out.

Banfields egregious lack of communication, empathy and just common sense was never present throughout the whole nightmare.

I would never recommend Banfield to a single person. They are the quintessential example of what not to ever do to any fur baby or parent.

Banfield should lose their license and never be allowed to reopen this location again.

View full review
Loss:
$128
Cons:
  • Negligent
  • Too many to list
  • Callous

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Avoid this Veterinary at all cost

Alice W Ycm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Yonkers, New York

Banfield put me into collections after doing 10years of business with them on auto pay

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Banfield hospital is nationwide. That is why I started with them for my fur baby 10 years ago.

I've had good and bad experiences. Banfield has serious issues between the store fronts and their customer service. They placed me into collections even though I updated my credit card, address and email address! They never updated my information Billing keeps using addresses that were old and old email addresses.

I never ever received anything saying they couldn't bill me, by email, regular mail txt or phone call. I received many emails and txts, but not about billing. Now they have placed me into collections trying to charge insane collection fees. Don't do business with them.

Manager stated that although I updated my information their systems don't connect with billing! Insane. Scam to hit you up for fees. Terrible customer service.

Also the vets are not consistent and anything past yearly check ups is a big problem. Over $600 is expensive for yearly comprehensive exams.

View full review

User's recommendation: Don't do business with Banfield

Elizabeth C Itg
map-marker Yonkers, New York

Can’t get my sick furry babies seen

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
One of my dogs has refused to eat food for the past 3 days. Now my other dog who lives to eat and loves to eat has stopped eating. My 3 rd dog has Alain stopped eating. Banfield hospital near me are closed . My regular banifield vet is unable to see them. Mean while Im pay a considerable wellness fee to keep my babies healthy
View full review

Preferred solution: Have my pups seen immediately or cancel membership

Dequanta H

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker East Peoria, Illinois

Transaction issue

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Banfield Pet Hospital - Transaction issue
That wasnt my money in my account ineed it out back on my card please thank you iforgot to turn my card off
View full review
Loss:
$81

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: return the money to the account it was token off of thank you

Keith B Edm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Azusa, California

Cancel my plan

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I was wanting to cancel my plan with Banfield after extremely poor treatment of my cat. I was told I could NOT cancel the plan because I supposedly signed a contract for a second year.

I DID NOT sign any such contract after the first year. My Client I.D. is Cov13Z4. Please contact me to resolve this issue.

I really do not wish to get my attorney involved with this, but if necessary, I will proceed as needed.

Banfield nearly killed my cat by over sedating her for a simple procedure. When I contacted the Glendora, CA office after I brought my cat home, I was told the vet had to give my cat "extra" medication because she was "hissing and biting" and then the vet denied this happened.

View full review

User's recommendation: If you love your cat, DO NOT take them to Banfield.

Esker Kpv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Bridgeton, Missouri

Killed my 3 year old cat

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I just had my cat euthanized by an emergency vet's office because of the negligence of your office in Bridgeton, MO. I had been taking my 3 year old sphynx to them for the past week over him vomiting, not eating or drinking, or eliminating.

At the time i thought he had ingested part of a plant. The first day I took him in (Friday September 15th, 2023) they left him in a kennel for 5 hours without food or water. I had to call to get an update. I was told that his ears were a little dirty but the vet didn't have time to really look at him.

Then she told me about how he didn't have anymore blood tests on his plan but she could give him a nausea shot if I wanted. I opted for the shot. He didnt eat or drink that night and i reached out to the Pet Chat that is part of my plan. She gave me suggestions on what to try to get him to eat.

The next day (Saturday September 16th) I called to ask for the manager. I was informed she was in surgery and would have to call me back. I told her fine. She didn't call me back until Monday (September 18th).

She asked me how my cat was and I told her that nothing had changed and he seemed to be in pain. She had me bring him back in. The whole time I had been syringe feeding and watering him. I brought him back in that day.

There they did an xray and an ultrasound that I paid over $1000 for that showed nothing was wrong. They gave him 50mL of fluid under his skin and said maybe it was just the plant I thought he ingested working his way out and gave me a prescription for some bland food for him to try. He wouldn't eat it. So I kept syringe feeding him.

September 19th they called to check on him. There was no change and I told them. They wanted to try another prescription food for recovery and I opted to get him a prebiotic. He wouldn't eat and I was compounding the prebiotic with water myself to syringe it into his mouth.

September 20th, he finally tried to eliminate. There was string coming out of his butt. I called the vet and they told me not to pull it and he'll pass ot on his own. I tried to get ahold of someone on the Pet Chat multiple times last night but no one would respond.

Today, he seemed to be struggling to eliminate. I once again called banfield and the receptionist had to have the doctor call me back. When she did, she told me to take him to the emergency vet's office.

When I got him there, the doctor looked in his mouth and noticed there was a string under his tongue. He needed surgery.

I went ahead and he'd them do it. The doctor called me and told me it had been left too long and there was too much damage done. He had more than 6 tears in his intestines and there was nothing she could do. The damage was too wide spread and severe.

This all happened because I listened to your doctors and my cat and my family are paying the price for your companies negligence.

If they would have once looked into his mouth, they would've found the problem.

But they never did. Just tried to sell me another wellness plan.

View full review
Loss:
$6000
Pros:
  • There are no pros
Cons:
  • Will kill your animals and then charge you insane amounts

Preferred solution: Compensation for all money lost, removal of the rest of my pets from their wellness plans, cost of deceased cat, cost of missed wages and pain and suffering

User's recommendation: Do not go there

8 comments
Skylee Bam

Banfield facilities nationwide seem to have huge problems. more people know about it, less they will use them which essentially will hurt their ockets.

banfield is all about profits and not wellness of anyone's pets. They are owned by 4th largest company in the USA, Mars, candy company. They just care about the $$$. Pathetic, unethical, lazy , greedy...the list goes on.

Should take these reviews seriously when it starts hurting their greedy pockets.

Pathetic company. Overall.

Anaiya Ewy

It does not matter how the cat got the string. She should accept responsibliity.

Guest

Can you post a copy of the x-rays?

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2398501

They didn't give me a copy. Just told me there was nothing on them.

They told me yesterday that the vet didn't do a proper physical exam and check his mouth but they're going to refund me the mo ey I spent in their office and at the emergency vet's office. Other than that, they said I needed to take responsibility of the cat because he ate the string at my house.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2398502

That's terrible and I'm so sorry for your loss. You are entitled to ALL your records by law.

I would consider making a board complaint. I NEVER say that, but this is egregious.

Anaiya Ewy
reply icon Replying to comment of Guest-2398502

They have a point there. You also need to take up responsibility.

Your ct died and the first thing you asked for is compensation. You do not really care about that pet.

Guest
reply icon Replying to comment of Anaiya Ewy

That's a disgusting thing to say to someone grieving the loss of a pet. That's so callous and ugly.

You have no idea how the cat got into string. Something may have unraveled or it could have fallen off clothes or a blanket.

Anybody knows to look UNDER THE TONGUE in a vomiting cat. If the vet had performed a thorough physical exam, the cat may be alive today.

Esker Kpv
reply icon Replying to comment of Anaiya Ewy

I loved my cat. I still do.

I saw he was sick and got him to the vet the next day. I told them to do anything for him. I told them to max out my credit card on file if necessary and if that wasn't enough then I'd give them another one. I didn't feed him the string.

I'm the sort of pet owner that uses pet safe cleaners and buy them clothes and top rated foods.

The fact that you don't know me and say I don't love my animals is disgusting. Have the day you deserve.

View more comments (7)
Anonymous
map-marker Aliso Viejo, California

Lack of service

Not answering phone. Rude when do answer. Taking business elsewhere. XXXXXaaaasdfggbfdfvvbbbvgvvbbbvvvvv
View full review

User's recommendation: Don’t use.

Mamie L Qnt

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Collections

I need to know my old dogs past due balance on her wellness plan. Her name is taylor. And i am trying to pay it.
View full review

User's recommendation: Pay off your balance before it go to collections. Cause once it does they will not answer the phone.

Suzanne C Ghw
map-marker Charleston, South Carolina

Poor customer service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

My 16 yr old dog had two refills on a prescription for ear drop antibiotics for an ear infection! They wouldnt fill the Rx because the Dr that prescribed it changed stores!

They wanted me to take a 16 yr old non mobile dog, in a storm, an hour plus drive and Im handicapped to the Dr that prescribed the Rx!

Totally unacceptable! This is wrong! My three dogs have been on the wellness program since birth and they cant refill a Rx that has 2 refills! Antibiotics arent a level Three narcotic!!!

I thought they were there for the welfare of your pet.

WRONG!

This dog is end of life care!

Im trying to do everything to make his last days good!

I have to physically carry him outside to use the bathroom! He then just pees on himself!

This is soooo sad!

I guess it would work better if I stood outside the stupid Banfield store and loudly profess what a crock of crap Banfield is!!!

Banfield sucks and all of their policies and rules make zero sense!

This is an absolutely horrible place!

And what makes it worse is its not the first time, not the second time but the fourth time this has happened to me!!!

View full review

Preferred solution: Better service and a little old fashioned thought process!

User's recommendation: Stay away from Banfield

1 comment
Guest

Any remaining refills expire after one year from date written(for non-controlled medication). As long as the prescription was written 1/10/23 or later, it could be filled today 1/9/24.

Marcus B Eko

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Swansea, Illinois

Worse place to do business for your pet!!!!

They set you up for a plan you cant cancel and report to credit bureau all of it.. dog died and they cared less.. continue to charge me for a year, Pay them off and would never step foot n there building again... God will get you evil people
View full review

User's recommendation: Never deal with them on businesS

John T Mum

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Durham, North Carolina

Billing

Need to pay my account and the automated system will not let me do it besides the wrong account information. My number does not match. My ZIP Code does not match.
View full review
Georgina L Qre

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Incompetence

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
They had me come in three times to have my 17 year old chihuahuas nails trimmed. He is a docile sweet little boy named Skippy. They said he was too upset to get his nails trimmed. For the third visit they had me sedate him only to turn him away once again. From there I went to another veterinarian and had his nails trimmed no problem.
View full review
Loss:
$1600
Cons:
  • Incompetence

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don’t sign up for the Wellness plan.

MASSOUD M Vfg

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Escondido, California

Scam, Ripoff

This is a sorry company. I wish I had read the reviews years ago when I signed up. Avoid them at any cost. I paid premium for years and when I decided to cancel, they said it is in the fine print that you have to pay for the full year!! I was never happy during the years I had it but never bothered to check their reviews!!
View full review
Loss:
$530
Cons:
  • Scam ripoff

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Stay away

Melanie T Cwl

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Wellness Program is a rip - off!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 08, 2023

The Monroeville store in Pittsburgh is the culprit; 3820 William Penn Hwy. 15146

Original review Oct 08, 2023
It is impossible to remove yourself from the Banfield Money program for any reason! I was charged $555.00 for a year of the program which I didnt want. The supervising medical director is absent, and Banfield makes it impossible to use Chewys medications!
View full review
Loss:
$555

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don’t use “Wellness Program “!

Anonymous
map-marker Brussels, Brussels Hoofdstedelijk Gewest

Billing

I need Bainfield to check my account. I believe that more money has been taken from my account than necessary. in the last two month, I estimate almost 800.00 has been paid to Bainfield. My plans are to remove my card from your system if this matter isn't reviewed and resolved. Also, the doctor's always trying to prescribe more medications than necessary, when you have multiple pets that is prescribed the same medication, such as shampoo, etc. I pay a lot for three dogs, and I think it is unnecessary to be charged Mutiple times for the same medication.
View full review

Brands Related to Banfield Pet Hospital

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article